Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Posted by on Feb 11, 2014 in Book News, Latest Posts | 3 comments

More Boon Dockers Reviews

 

Hi guys,

 

Thought I would give you a little update on how my book Boon Dockers has been doing on Amazon lately. A few weeks back I enrolled my book in a promotion on Amazon where I gave it away for free for 5 days. Knowing little about the ‘free’ section on Amazon I must be honest in saying I did not hold very high expectations. Boy was I in for a shock!

Only one week after the free promotion I had new book reviews trickling in at a rate of about 2 per day. When I took a look at the reports from the promotion I was almost floored! You see Amazon has separate sites for different parts of the world with the US being the biggest. When I checked the number of downloads from the UK, Canada and Australia I was pleased to see 38, 81 and 19 downloads. These were good results I thought, I mean these are real people out there who now had a copy of my book to hopefully enjoy and perhaps review. It was when I checked the US downloads that I almost fell off my chair. 3337 downloads! In a week!

I was stoked! So many people now had a copy of my book. They would either criticise it or love it but at that stage I didn’t care, at least people had taken a chance on it… on me. As I said, it was now the week following the promotion and already reviews were coming in. Sure there were a few that were one and two stars but hey not everyone is going to like your stuff right? The big deal for me was that the majority of the reviews coming in have been really positive and heart warming. People I have never met taking the time to let me know they thought my book was great. There is no greater feeling! Finally I have realised my dream to share my story and either make people laugh, think or plan their own escape. This was the reason I started writing in the first place.

So since this incredible week in the life of my book I have had more incredible reviews coming in and have had more paid downloads. As this promotion was such a success in my mind I thought why not run a free promo every month? I soon discovered that Amazon puts restrictions on this and my next free promo cannot happen until April but you can be sure I will do it again. And hey if you can’t afford my book by all means keep an eye out for the next promo, but if you can’t wait that long you could always get it now from http://amzn.to/XxlaFG

I’m just happy to be here knowing my book has now been downloaded over 3600 times and that there are people out there enjoying my work. Thanks to all the people who took time out of their day to leave me a review and help me get my book on the radar. There is no way for me to repay you, although I will try by having another travel tale ready for you as soon as I can. This time some tales from Latin America!

So here they are, the good, the bad and the excellent!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun and Funny Romp across America with Rv and an Aussie Couple. February 9, 2014

By David Roderick

“Hey…I admit that I love RVing and especially BoonDocking. But to read a book on travelling through the USA from the eyes of an Aussie couple was pure delight. Funny, perceptive, and great stories of travel across America and Canada. I recommend this to anyone who wants to sit down with a draft, and read to your heart’s pleasure about winding through Walmart’s America, one state at a time. Hilarious in places and insightful in others. I’ve always enjoyed traveling about Australia, and now it’s plain fun to read someones impressions about our fair or not so fair country. Sit back and enjoy a good read, mate!”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars traveling with the Aussies February 6, 2014

By Lyn

“I enjoyed the story of their travels. Some language was not necessary for the story and will stop some people from reading a good book on traveling our country through the eyes of a Australian.”

 

2.0 out of 5 stars what a waste. glad i didn’t buy it January 15, 2014

By Hot Mama 42

“was looking forward to reading about their adventure. i took a similar one in high school with family. but even with multiple siblings and adults we had no where near the amount of coarse language that the author feels he needs to use. I will be deleting the book after only five chapters.”

 

4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, January 28, 2014

By Pam R

“Fresh perspective on what most choose not to see. America is is explored showing a diverse culture, and ecologically beautiful landscape through the eyes of a couple who set out just to “see what there is to see”!”

 

1.0 out of 5 stars could not finish, January 22, 2014

By Danni Y

“I have read just about every book there is on boon docking or traveling full time and was excited to read this book. I had gotten 3/4 through this book and just could not finish it. I personally could not tolerate another snide comment about Americans . For every nice thing the author would say about Americans it was always followed up by several negative comments and judgements . Do you not have stupid ,bad parents ,poor or over weight Australians? Really was it that shocking to your senses? While I agree there is a obesity epidemic I think after what felt like the hundredth insult I closed it and removed it from my kindle . Perhaps you and jenny both realize how terribly snobby and judgemental you have been on your trip to the U.S. and change your outlook on people . That’s how I hope the book ended !This book was free and I feel upset I wasted even a minute of my life reading it.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Enthusiastic, good read, January 21, 2014

By Betty J. Carl

 “I really liked this book, his descriptions of the places I’m planning to go see in my RV just made me want to leave earlier. I like his enthusiasm and his obvious love and caring for his wife, confirmed many times in the book. Sure, he could have had a bit more editing, but it was good enough to look over that. I will be keeping his book on a short list in order to follow a few of his suggestions about travel in the Arizona/Utah area.”

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, January 20, 2014

By Blue Iris
“I could hardly put it down, traveling with Ardun & Jen was a fun adventure. I wish there could have been more details of their drive across the U.S. Their reactions were so interesting. I’m a 64 year old American who wants to travel but can’t, so I enjoyed reading the impressions of these two young wonderful people. I’m hoping they have other escapades to share.”

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, January 17, 2014

By Tina Klink

“Interesting look at the United States, learned some things I didn’t know. Weird to see us thru someone else’s eyes.”

 

2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, January 19, 2014

By Angie B

“I liked the description of the journey. I liked the subject of the book. What made me give it only two stars is his attitude toward overweight people, red necks and the poor. It made me uncomfortable and brought me out of the story. I also thought the dumping of raw sewage along roadways was not cool, not cool at all. Shame, could have been a much better book.”

 

4.0 out of 5 stars We Americans are good people where it counts…., January 16, 2014

By Shelly

“Thoroughly enjoyed this book…would love to share with my elderly Mother if it weren’t for the f word usage….other than those few ugly words this was a good read…”

 

3.0 out of 5 stars Boon Docked, January 17, 2014

By Victoria Moore 

“good easy read, could use a bit more color and substance. Ardun and Jen seemed to grow over the course of their journey, but I would have liked to have heard more about their trip.”

So there they are folks, oh and just for your interest the naughty F word appeared a measly 10 times in the entire 224 pages of the book but has been noted and replaced with some more Aussie bloody words. If you want to go and give my book a try or read more reviews head over to http://amzn.to/XxlaFG and download it today.
Kindle cover2.2 copy

3 Comments

  1. That is great news Ardun. I’ll be honest with you, your book has been on my must buy list for a while. I just haven’t got around to it yet due to my reading backlog.

    Sorry I missed the free promotion period as well but I can’t begrudge paying for it either 🙂

    I remember using the free promo for my book on the first launch. I only did it for 3 days and had quite a few downloads, like you it was quite heavily weighted towards the US.

    I have read since that I should be doing the free downloads over 5 days not 3. Apparently it is a snowball effect, after 2-3 days your book scores higher in the most downloaded books and that creates more incentive for people to download.

    Congratulations on your book success and I hope the momentum continues 🙂

  2. Now that I am back in the USA, I realize how “right on the money” some of your observations are, so keep those posts and hopefully another insightful book coming. Cheers Dar

    • Thanks Dar! There is definitely another book coming and hopefully as much insight, and humour 🙂

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *